Friendship

Throughout the day I was encouraged by the variety of friendships in my life. Unlike these friends, my friendships were and are far more powerful in forming Christ in me.

friends_index2.jpg

Today, my ministry interactions included, my wife (as I left the bedroom, our conversations via phone and email, the brief visit at church), my daughters, my co-laborers and ministers of the gospel over here at church including: Chris, Karen, Caleb, Brooke, Stephanie, Craig, Don, Lynne, CarolSue, Paul, Jess, Janie, Keith, Jennifer, Patric, Mimi, Maureen, Suzanne, Dale, Cliff, Wes, Adam, Cartee and others.  We exchanged emails, passed in the hall, had lingering conversations with one another, I helped trouble-shoot computers or they sharpened my theology and my practice.

That was just one day. Each relationship has a particular nuance that challenges me and makes me better. I don’t often tell these individuals what they mean to me or how they have shaped me. Some have pointed out my sin, some have challenged my thinking about self, God, ministry. Some have listened at lenght to my rants and failings. Many have prayed for me faithfully. Many have tolerated my butt-headed-ness and been graciously merciful to me. I am grateful for each one, for what they have helped form in me.

Good stuff. Really good stuff. Maybe I need to write down names of people in my life and how they have shaped me or helped me in my growth in grace.

Leave a comment